Ohio Cosmetology License

In order to get a license from the Ohio board of cosmetology in cosmetology, esthetics, and nail technology, qualifying students must complete the state of Ohio Board of Cosmetology requirements listed below. Please contact the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology for additional information.

Requirements
The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology issues practicing licenses to applicants who satisfy the following requirements:

Is at least 16 years of age
Is of good moral character
Has the equivalent of an Ohio public school 10th grade education
Passes an examination for your chosen branch of practice
Pays to the board the applicable fee
In addition, applicants for an initial license from the Ohio State Cosmetology Board must have successfully completed formal training. Applicants are required to complete at least the minimum number of board-approved cosmetology training hours in a school of cosmetology licensed in this state:

Cosmetologist – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Hair designer – 1200 hours
Manicurist – 200 hours
Applicants for an initial natural hair stylist license must complete at least 450 of instruction in subjects relating to sanitation, scalp care, anatomy, hair styling, communication skills, and laws and rules governing the practice of cosmetology.

Reciprocity – A person who is licensed or registered as a cosmetologist under the laws of any other state (or country, or territory of the United States, or District of Columbia) may be granted reciprocity and a license to practice cosmetology without requirement of examination. The applicant’s license must be from a state with substantially equal or greater licensing requirements than those required in the state of Ohio. Additional requirements may also apply.

Ohio Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

1929 Gateway Circle
Grove City, OH 43123
Phone: 614-466-3834
Fax: 614-644-6880 Toll Free Outside of Columbus: 866-642-6723

Comments are closed.